Question : Problem: Commercial Scanner Recommendation

I am a Navision Developer (Pacal-like integrated development environment owned by Microsoft).  I am going to implement a low-volume document imaging project that integrates with our business information system.  We will be scanning 50 documents a day and 30% of those will be updates to existing documents that are over-writing existing scans.  I am shopping for a commercial scanner with an ISIS interface.  I've looked at the HP 8290 and the Fujitsu fi 4220C and Fujitsu i80.  I know that I may have to purchase middle-ware if I can't get one of these to work directly from my application, but right now I am interested in the best choice in hardware.  Does anyone have experience with this level of scanner, ie:( $1,500 - $3,000)?

Thanks

Answer : Problem: Commercial Scanner Recommendation

Hi,

I am biased owing to the fact I only really use 3 makes of scanner, Fujitsu, Kodak and Canon.  I have written utilities for all 3 makes using Twain via a third party development library called ImagXpress Professional v7 (They also produce an ISIS add-on) from Pegasus Imaging Corporation (www.jpg.com).

My recommendations below are purely based upon your requirement of a desktop/mid range scanner.

During the course of my occupation (electronic document management) I provide various solutions: -

Automated Forms Processing (BW);
This involves scanning forms usually in BW (1 bit images) and using a third party application to extract information (hand written responses, tick marks, multi-choice selections etc)