Question : Problem: Problem with ssh connection from Linux to XP

Hello experts,
I'm having some problems connection to my home computer (Win XP) using my Ubuntu 8.04 laptop.

I can make the connection when I'm at home where I don't have to deal with my 'outside' ip-address but only the router given ones. I installed Cygwin on the Windows machine so please ask me anything about that if you need to know. I'm using Putty on the Linux machine, and like I said it works perfectly when at home. But when I try to use it anywhere else using the hostname
computername@outside-ip-address
I get a 'Unable to open connection to computername@outside-ip-address: Name or service not known'

Please note that I am a beginner so if you could post questions like 'Do you have xxxx setup ? You can see it by doing yyyy' that would be great.

Thanks

Answer : Problem: Problem with ssh connection from Linux to XP

Here is some good information from this webpage:

Users from the outside (geeks call this a WAN) can
 ssh  username@external_ip_address   (e.g. ssh   [email protected] )

Caveat Emptor   :
-assuming you have an IP address that is accessible by the outside world, some  ISP do not give out outside-accessible IP address.    <-- You are good here
-assuming your ISP does not suffer from extreme paranoia, he/she allows "port 22  TCP" traffic through their network.                                      <-- ???
-assuming your firewall allows TCP port 22 and port forwards to the  computer running the ssh server.                                                                  <-- You are good here

If you want to use TCP port 443 as the sshd listening port   (instead of the  default SSH port 22), see this page: http://pigtail.net/LRP/printsrv/port443.html