Question : Problem: Upgrade fromPromise  FastTrak Lite 100 on MotherBoard to Promise FastTrak S150 TX2 PCI Raid card

I have an elite group p4vxad motherboard that came with Promise RAID FastTrak 100 Lite software and I running XP Pro with SP2.

I have been running a mirrored array Raid(1) for a few years and it works fine. I've been getting kind of nervous about what could happen if the board goes one day.

So I bought a FastTrak S150 TX2 PCI Raid board so I don't have to worry about the controller on the Mother Board. In the documentation for the card it says that you can transfer the drives but it does not tell you how to do it.

I've been on the Promise website and can't seem to find anything there either. So maybe someone can help me with this install.

The driver for the controller that I have now is FastTrak.sys Ver. 2.0.2.18 Build# 2.00.0 (build18).

Thanks in advance

Answer : Problem: Upgrade fromPromise  FastTrak Lite 100 on MotherBoard to Promise FastTrak S150 TX2 PCI Raid card

Fixer32

How is your concern for the controller going out on the motherboard any different than the controller going out on the PCI card--two sides of the same coin--no?

No documentation with the PCI card as to how to install--on driver CD or floppy disks--readme.txt or usermanual.pdf?

Anyway--you should backup important data or the whole system for safey.

Install the PCI card according to directions and install the necessary WinXP drivers so WinXP sees the controller in the Device Manager without any warning messages (no HDD's hooked up to it yet).

You will have to read up on how your system sees the boot device order.  You may have make changes in the boot order in the BIOS and/or disable the onboard controller to allow the PCI card controller to take the primary position.