Question : Problem: How and what to manage on a managed switch... ???  Help???

I need advice and direction on configuring our managed Switches.
Previously I have been working with MS, Linux, and Lotus Notes. No Cisco routing or Switching experience.
Somehow when I was hired they got the impression I was the guy for the Switching and Routing stuff. (it was not on my resume)
I have been doing general tech support for the last several months, but recently was told that I need to manage our Switches.
After he sees my ability to Manage the Switches, then he will give me a few Servers to work on, but he believes if I can not Manage the Switches then I will not be able to Manage the Servers. (Which is what I was doing in my last job) OK enough about the circumstance.

Most sites I have searched on people say that they just set the Switches up and let them go.
They configure and maintain the Routers but do not really do anything with the Switches.
I have read many times that SNMP is more of a hassle then it is worth.

There seems to be a lot of features built into the Switches, but I can not find any sites or books dealing with managed switch configurations and what advantage they have. And there are tons of sites and books on Router configurations.

Current setup.
We have a small business WAN.
2 Dell Powerconnect 3348 Managed Switches linked together as VLAN1. (48 ports to each Switch)
1 Dell Powerconnect 5212 Managed Switch. ** Gigabit ** ( 12 ports ) ( 2 unused )
9 Dell Blade Servers.
1 1700 Cisco Router used as a Gateway to our Quest WAN connecting through a T1 line.
90 Windows XP workstations.
15 Full size printers (we do tons of printing to all locations)

Locally there are 3 buildings, side by side, all 1 story.
The main bldg. houses the Server/Switch rack.

The other 2 adjoining buildings have 8 PC’s and 1 large printer in each unit.
They each have a single 16 port un-managed switch in them.