Question : Problem: DVI knowledge needed

Hi guys,

I have a question regarding DVI ports and LCD Displays. I have a brand new Apple powerbook with a DVI output. The user's guide does not specify what kind of DVI port it is. I know there are two kinds of it (DVI-I and D?).
With the laptop there is also a DVI-to-VGA adapter. I used this adapter to connect a VGA display and it works perfectly. So the port in the laptop is working ok.
I have bought a Sharp Aquos LCD TV (32 inches) with a DVI-I input. When I connect the powerbook nothing happens. The TV does not detect the laptop and the laptop does not detect the TV. Bought screens blink during a couple of seconds, but after that, everything is normal again. It seems that they can see each other, but for some reason, after the blink, it is like they are not connected at all.
I have tried a second cable and the problem is the same. I have also tried to change the resolutions with no success.
I am new in DVI and all those things. Could it be an incompatibility between the DVI in my powerbook and the DVI-I of my TV? Is there a special kind of cable like "DVI-to-DVI-I" or something like that?

Thanks in advance for your answers,

Guillermo Acilu

Answer : Problem: DVI knowledge needed

The port on the laptop is a "DVI-I" port, which means that it has both analog and digital outputs in the same connector.  This is the most comprehensive type of port, and virtually all ports on computers and video cards are of this type.

There are basically two likely reasons why the Sony display isn't working: