Question : Problem: Assistance Needed with Cisco 1721 Configuration VPN/Terminal Services

I'll start out by saying I'm still relatively new to EE, and I just today paid for a monthly subscription here so that I can ask questions, give out points, etc.  Please forgive me in advance if my question format/methodology is incorrect.

I have a client that has a Cisco 1721 modular router.  I downloaded Cisco's "gui" software for this device, to see if I could simplify the configuration of this device for myself, since I'm not that experienced with these routers.

The Cisco has two regular ethernet ports... once connected to the LAN, the other connected to a DSL router.  The DSL is commercial service, and they've provided a public IP address specifically for the WAN interface on this router.  Right now, the LAN has fully functional Internet access, but I cannot make any inbound traffic work at all, and I'm also concerned that the router may not be locked down as well as it should be.

My goal is to simply set up this router so that it is very secure, but allows several services.  For now, I'd like to get just the following services on the LAN up and running through this router, out to the internet:

-- Terminal Services - inbound 3389
-- Inbound VPN
-- I think MY client needs to connect to one of THEIR clients using VPN, and that client required the installation of this router in the first place.

I read at least one thread here on how to set this router up to allow access to the LAN terminal server from the Internet.  I read it, and followed the directions exactly, using telnet... and it didn't work.  Then, as I said, I used Cisco's "Secure Device Manager" software (SDM), which runs in a browser using a Java application.  That software can see the router, and it appears that I can even make NAT and/or firewall changes to the device.  But nothing I tried worked at all.